What is a Combatant Command?

Map of Combatant Command. Source DoD 2016

The Department of Defense has divided the world up into regional areas of responsibility – each region designated as a combatant command. These regions are provided command and control organizations and led by four-star general (or admirals) officers. The Combatant Commands are:

United States Africa Command (AFRICOM)
United States Central Command (CENTCOM)
United States European Command (EUCOM)
United States Northern Command (NORTHCOM)
United States Pacific Command (PACOM)
United States Southern Command (SOUTHCOM)

Additional Joint Commands include:

United States Special Operations Command (SOCOM)
United States Strategic Command (STRATCOM)
United States Transportation Command (TRANSCOM)

Each of the combatant commands have sub-commands to include theater special operations commands – SOCAFRICA, SOCCENT, SOCEUR, SOCNORTH, SOCPAC, and SOCSOUTH.


Source: “Unified Command Plan”U.S. Department of Defense.

About SOF News 1143 Articles
SOF News provides news, analysis, commentary, and information about special operations forces (SOF) from around the world.